Paradise in Belize – International Living

By Margot Brown

It hit me as soon as we stepped onto the pier off Front Street. To my right was the white sandy street with no cars and few bicycles. A handful of people walking. I realized: “This is it!”

That’s how it all started. Caye Caulker is the name of the island that I now call home. You can see the stretch of the island all the way down almost to the split. What a treat. Also, because there are no cars or vehicles of any kind (just a few golf carts for taxis) it is very quiet. I love the quiet and I love the smiling people who nod their heads politely while greeting you.

This is an island of color… And in the clear water, you can see 25 feet down to the white sandy bottom…

The palm trees sway in the warm tropical breeze. For those of us who call this island home—whether native islanders or transplants like me from the California Bay Area—this is paradise.

This is a beautiful island with handsome people of every culture and color. One young woman told me her father was part East Indian and part Creole. Her mother was part Guatemalan and part Belizean.

With neighboring Mexico to the north and Guatemala to the south, Belize is the only country in Central America with English as its primary language. That everyone speaks English was an important factor in my decision to come here for my retirement years.

The locals are very family oriented and there are less than 2,000 residents with one elementary school and one high school. Most expats here are from the U.S., Canada, and the UK.

I get a feeling of peace and gentleness when I walk around the island. I know I made the right move for me. Just before I left the States, I remember saying goodbye to my friends and saying, “Oh, I am retiring….my husband and I bought a house on an island.” That almost sounds unreal, doesn’t it?

Well, we did it and I am so grateful for this paradise.

via Paradise in Belize – International Living.

This entry was posted in International, Lifestyle, Retirement, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

