Quick Answers about Ecuador

Cajas National Park in Ecuador, near Cuenca.

Image via Wikipedia

The following is a response to another blogger about Ecuador.  It is quick to the point and will give you a brief overview of Ecuador.  I would say that probably answers the most common and basic questions that people have about Ecuador.  Please comment or feel free to ask more questions.  Response as follows:

In response to Gloria,
I’ve never been to Ecuador, but I have researched a ton about Cuenca because I too wish to retire there.  I will just go down your list of questions and answer based on my in depth research.  Cuenca is safe but like any major city there will be crime.  It should be stated that of the major cities in Ecuador it is the safest and has a crime rate much lower that most major U.S. cities. The cost of living in Ecuador is very cheap.  Prices are on the rise as more people move there, but you could live very comfortably on about $800-$1000 per month (all expenses included: rent, food, utilities, entertainment etc).  You could spend more to live luxuriously, but at $1000 per month you would be living very nice.  Leasing/Renting a house like you describe will vary depending on where you live.  In the Cuenca area you can expect to pay anywhere from $200-$500 per month for what you are looking for.  $500 per month being somewhat luxurious, $200-$300 probably being the average. Most people don’t need a car in Ecuador due to the extremely cheap public transportation.  Anything from taxis, to buses, to trains can get you almost anywhere you want to go.  A taxi ride across Cuenca may run you $5-$7 bucks, bus rides generally run a $.25 or so.  It is advised that you don’t bring a car due to the extreme price of shipping it over, the better option is to buy one there if you decide you need one. The water is safe to drink, electricity is reasonable (no heat or A/C due to the nice temperate weather), but internet can be expensive.  The prices are starting to come down, however expect to actually pay a little more for internet in Ecuador than you do in the States.  Also of note, Ecuador has great medical and dental facilities at a fraction of the cost of the U.S., and many of the doctors and dentists receive their training either in the U.S. or Europe and then return to Ecuador.  The prescriptions in Ecuador are also very affordable.  Good luck with your decision!
This entry was posted in International, Lifestyle, Retirement, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick Answers about Ecuador

  1. billbirnbaum says:

    After haved lived in Peru for eight months, my wife and I fell in love with Cuenca upon first sight. It’s a very beautiful city with much to offer. Bill

    • straydog01 says:

      I plan to visit next year for a couple of weeks…I hear nothing but great things and am very excited. Over the next couple of years my plan is to buy some property there so that when I retire I can make a quick escape! I’d like to hear about your time in Peru…any posts? Take care.

      • billbirnbaum says:

        My wife and I lived in Peru in 2007. Six weeks in Arequipa living with a family and doing an immersion Spanish course. Then six months in Abancay, a poor community in the Peruvian Andes, doing volunteer work. We developed very dear friendships while in Peru and, last December, we visited to celebrate friends’ high school graduation and a wedding. No, I haven’t posted about our Peruvian experiences, but I’m certainly happy to share any and all that we’ve learned about the culture, food, transportation, treks, and places to stay and eat, etc. I have written some about our adventures in Peru… Part V of my up-coming memoir to publish next spring… it’s called, “A Lifetime of Small Adventures.” It’s described on my blog at: http://adventureretirement.com/about-bills-memoir/ After living in Peru for eight months, we traveled for another four months in Ecuador (including the Galapagos Islands), Patagonia Chile and Argentina. If you have any questions relating to travel in those countries, please let me know. I’ll be happy to help if I can. Have a great trip, Bill

      • straydog01 says:

        Thanks! Look forward to learning more from you. It sounds like you are doing exactly what I would like to do. I definitely want to visit all of the places you spoke of. I’ll be in touch and will definitely keep up with your posts. Thanks again and take care.

  2. billbirnbaum says:

    You’re most welcome… see ya, Bill

Leave a Reply

