6.3 magnitude Earthquake in Northeastern Afghanistan

Last night I was awakened by the shaking of my bed.  It started as a slight tremble and eventually worked up to some pretty hefty shaking.  It lasted about 1 to 1.5 minutes and resulted in no damage.  I woke up this morning and read that it was a 6.3 magnitude earthquake with an epicenter about 50km north of my location in the Hindu Kush.  The earthquake was reported to have originated some 200km below the surface, which greatly diminished the effects felt on the surface.

I can say that regardless of the diminished effects on the surface, it was still enough to get the blood flowing from a dead sleep! I’ve felt slight tremors here pretty regularly, but this was way more intense than any of the tremors I’ve felt.  What really caught my attention was how it just seemed to keep on going non-stop.  In the past, the tremors last anywhere from a couple of seconds to about 5-10 seconds.  This thing just kept on going and continued to build in strength as it went.  My best guess is that it lasted around a minute then slowly subsided.

Pretty crazy experience and just one more reason I’m ready to get home!

This entry was posted in International, Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

